Traumatherapy

Trauma is a highly underestimated cause of numerous psychological and physical symptoms. The effects of trauma from past experiences is well documented in research. The effects can range from depression, anxiety, panic attacks, sleeping problems, difficulties in concentration, feelings of estrangement, dissociation, chronic pain, fatigue, attachment disorders and burnout, just to name a few. The treatment of physical and emotional trauma (accidents, sexual and emotional abuse, violence, torture, loss) requires a careful and specialized approach, beyond conventional talk therapy. This is why Somatic Experiencing and EMDR are indispensible.

EMDR

Traumatherapy
with EMDR

With this method, the left and right halves of the brain are alternately stimulated (bilateral stimulation), resulting in a synchronization of both halves of the brain. This is accomplished through certain guided eye movements, audible signals and/or tactile stimulation. The result is the gradual processing of the trauma which often leads to its complete resolution. The memories of painful traumatic events are not deleted but processed in such a way that they end up being merely neutral information.

Somatic Experiencing

Somatic Experiencing
Developed by Peter Levine

Somatic Experiencing, developed by Peter Levine, takes into account the reactions in the body and nervous system that occur during a threatening or traumatic event. The underlying biological mechanisms are based on behavioral observations in the animal world. These go back to the hunter-prey behavior, an initial stimulus-response cycle with three basic options: fight, flight or freeze (playing dead) reflexes.

Traumatherapie

Die Auswirkungen von traumatischen Ereignissen aus der Vergangenheit sind gut belegt. Diese Auswirkungen zeigen sich, manchmal erst Jahre später, als Depressionen, Ängste, Panikattacken, Schlafprobleme, Konzentrationsstörungen, Gefühle von Entfremdung, Migräne, Erschöpfung, chronische Schmerzen, Bindungsunfähigkeit, Burnout, Rückenprobleme uvm. Die Verarbeitung von physischen und psychischen Traumata (z.B. Verkehrsunfälle, Stürze, Missbrauch, Gewalt und Bedrohung, Folter, Verlust eines nahen Menschen) erfordert ein besonders behutsames Vorgehen. Hierfür kommen Somatic Experiencing und EMDR zum Einsatz.

EMDR

Traumatherapie
mit EMDR

Bei dieser Methode wird die linke und rechte Gehirnhälfte abwechseln stimuliert (bilaterale Stimulation), was zu einer Synchronisation beider Gehirnhälften führt. Das Ergebnis ist eine schrittweise Verarbeitung des traumatischen Materials bis hin zu einer vollständigen Auflösung des Traumas. Die Erinnerung an die schmerzhaften traumatischen Ereignisse werden hierdurch nicht gelöscht sondern so verarbeitet, dass sie lediglich als neutrale Informationen zurück bleiben.

Somatic Experiencing

Somatic Experiencing -
Entwickelt von Peter Levine

Das von Peter Levine entwickelte Somatic Experiencing berücksichtigt die während eines bedrohlichen Ereignisses ablaufenden Reaktionen in Körper und Nervensystem. Der zugrunde liegende biologische Mechanismus beruht auf Verhaltensbeobachtungen in der Tierwelt und geht auf das Jäger-Beute-Verhalten zurück, einem ursprünglichen Reiz-Reaktions-Zyklus mit grundsätzlich drei Optionen: Flucht-, Angriff- und Totstell-Reflex.